We’ve all sent dumb emails at some point and cringed the second the Send button was clicked. The good news is that for Gmail accounts a grace period of up to 30 seconds is offered to repeal those impulsive mistakes. This feature has been available for more than 6 years but has recently been added as a formal setting in Gmail.

How it works – the Undo Send feature must be activated, instructions below. When sending an email there will be a 5 to 30 second delay before the email leaves the server and is sent to the intended recipient(s).

How to Activate Undo Send:

  • Log into Gmail on a desktopgmail unsend screen shot
  • Click on the Gear icon
  • Scroll down to Undo Send under the General tab
  • Click ‘Enable Undo Send’
  • Click on the drop-down menu and select how long you want the ‘Undo Send’ option to appear – from 5 to 30 seconds after you click send.
  • Scroll down to the bottom of the screen and Save Changes.

With a bit of luck the next flippant remark you make to your mother can be snatched back out of the ether before you are written out of the will.

 

Further Reading:

Virtualisation – It’s Not a Hamburger Inside of a Doughnut

Interview Questions to Ask IT Support Companies – Part 1

What’s the Difference Between Help Desk and Desktop Support?